food4future

food4future - food for the future

How can we ensure healthy and sufficient nutrition for future generations? Are salt tolerant plants, macro algae, crickets or jellyfish alternatives to traditional food sources? And how can we include urban spaces in food production chains?

The joint project food4future (f4f), funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research within the funding line Agricultural Systems of the Future explores radical innovations to ensure sustainable and healthy food supply.

By developing and adapting key technologies – (UV)LED technology and composite lightweight materials – we develop innovative approaches and test them for their technical feasibility, their economic and ecologic viability.

food4future investigates macro algae, halophytes (salt tolerant plants), crickets and medusae (jellyfish) as alternative food sources. These will be cultivated in an urban environment in novel, customizable modular systems for food production – so-called "Urban Bio Spaces". 

In food4future, we conduct sociological and anthropological studies and focus on different extreme future scenarios. These help us identifying possible challenges of future food security and subsequently drive innovations.

food4future

Nahrung der Zukunft

food4future - Nahrung der Zukunft

Wie können wir zukünftige Generationen mit ausreichend gesunden Lebensmitteln versorgen? Sind Salzpflanzen, Makroalgen, Grillen und Quallen Alternativen zu traditionellen Nahrungsquellen? Und wie können wir den städtischen Raum in die Lebensmittelproduktion einschließen?

Das Verbundprojekt food4future – Nahrung der Zukunft (f4f), gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen des Programms Agrarsysteme der Zukunft, untersucht radikale Innovationen für eine nachhaltige und gesunde Lebensmittelversorgung.

Durch die Entwicklung und Anpassung von Schlüsseltechnologien – (UV)LED-Technologie und Composit-Leichtbau-Werkstoffen – werden Innovationsansätze entwickelt und auf ihre technische Realisierbarkeit, ihre ökonomische und ökologische Tragfähigkeit überprüft.

food4future erforscht zunächst Makroalgen, salztolerante Pflanzen, Grillen und Quallen als mögliche alternative Nahrungsquellen. Diese können dann in den neuartigen, flexibel gestaltbaren modularen Systemen im städtischen Raum angezogen und daraus Nahrungsmittel hergestellt werden.

In food4future führen wir soziologische und anthropologische Untersuchungen durch und beschäftigen uns mit verschiedenen Zukunftsszenarien. Diese helfen uns, mögliche Herausforderungen einer künftigen Ernährungssicherung zu identifizieren und Innovationen voranzutreiben.